United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Voting begins in CEAT Peoples Player of the Year stakes

Sep 10, 2010 1:28:50 AM - srilankacricket.lk

Statistics apart, Sri Lankan cricket fans have been provided an opportunity to pick their very own cricketing hero via SMS at the second CEAT Peoples Player of the Year competition launched by the country’s top tyre brand.

Twenty two cricketers on contract with Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) are eligible for this prestigious award, which will be presented at the annual CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards scheduled for 4th October 2010.

Voting opened on Friday 10th September and will close on 1st October 2010. Voting may be done via five mobile networks — Dialog, Etisalat, Mobitel, Hutch and Airtel – and the CDMA services of Lanka Bell, Suntel and SLT City Link.

Voters should type CEAT (space) Name of the Cricketer and send to 2343 to participate. Any number of votes may be sent from a single phone, and receipt of a valid vote will be confirmed by return SMS. Each voting SMS will cost the sender Rs 5 /=

All persons who vote for their favourite cricketer will go into a draw at the end of voting and 10 voters will win tickets to the grand 2010 CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards gala at Waters Edge.

“As the highest-selling tyre brand in the commercial vehicle as well as the personal cars and vans segment in Sri Lanka, CEAT is truly a people’s brand,” said Ravi Dadlani, General Manager Sales & Marketing at CEAT. “We understand that people have their own heroes and would like to pay tribute to them from the heart. The CEAT Peoples Player of the Year provides them with the opportunity to do just that.”

Sri Lanka’s dynamic top order batsman Tillekeratne Dilshan won the coveted CEAT Peoples Player of the Year in 2009.

The nominees for this year’s award are Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Muttiah Muralitharan, Thilan Samaraweera, T. M. Dilshan, Nuwan Kulasekera, Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Thushara, Rangana Herath, Prasanna Jayawardena, Ajantha Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera, Lasith Malinga, Thilina Kandamby, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Welagedera, Tharanga Paranavithana, Suraj Randhiv, Dinesh Chandimal, Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas.

CEAT partners Sri Lanka Cricket to conduct the annual CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards that honour the country’s best cricketers for performances in domestic and international tournaments. CEAT also supports motor racing and football in Sri Lanka.