United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Ratnapura District - overall champions

Nov 14, 2010 7:00:00 PM - aussieindolanka.com
Ratnapura District retained the overall championship of the National Youth Sports Festival with 115 points yesterday at the Jayathillake Ground in Nawalapitiya to make it two in a row. Kurunegala District was the runner-up with 55 points while Anuradhapura District secured the third slot with 54 points. The champions were awarded a cash prize of Rs 150,000 in addition to the championship trophy. Mohamed Mifran who set a new record in the men’s long jump and Ishara Sandeepani Dayananda who finished 200m with a time of 26.1 seconds were adjudged under 20 best men’s and women’s athletes respectively. In the over 20 category, Sampath Sanjeewa Jayasinghe the new record holder in the triple jump and Ishara Maduwanthi who cleared 5.69 metres in the long jump were adjudged best men and women athletes respectively. All were awarded with more cycles along with the trophies.   Read more:www.dailynews.lk/2010/11/15/spo02.asp