United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

New Cabinet sworn in

Nov 22, 2010 7:00:00 PM - aussieindolanka.com
A 60 member Cabinet of Ministers including nine senior Ministers who will elevate the nation into a new era of development and prosperity were sworn before President Mahinda Rajapaksa at a simple ceremony at the Presidential Secretariat yesterday. The new Cabinet of Ministers were appointed by President Rajapaksa two days after the inauguration of his second term of office to give impetus to the country’s development drive. President Rajapaksa swore in the new Cabinet of Ministers among the fresh hope that the country would be taken to new heights by the Government led by the President after bringing peace to the country within four years of his first term. Eighteen members of Parliament were sworn in as new Cabinet Ministers yesterday. Most of them were Deputy Ministers before being appointed as Cabinet Ministers. Former Deputy Ministers T B Ekanayake and Salinda Dissanayake who represent the Kurunegala district were appointed as Culture and Arts Minister and Indigenous Medicine Minister. Sri Lanka Muslim Congress Leader and one time Cabinet Minister Rauff Hakeem took oaths as the Justice Minister while former UNP parliamentarian Lakshman Seneviratne became the Productivity Promotion Minister.   Read more:www.dailynews.lk/2010/11/23/pol04.asp