United States Connecticut change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

1597 political parties and independent Groups contesting polls

Jan 28, 2011 11:00:00 AM - itnnews.lk

1597 Political Parties and Independent Groups are competing to take over the administration of village at the Local Government polls.

District Returning Officers had received 1282 Nomination lists from political parties and 765 Independent Groups by 12 noon yesterday. Elections Commissioner Dayananda Dishanayake said that of this 540 nomination lists were rejected. 29 nomination lists from political parties and 13 from Independent Groups from the Colombo District had been accepted. 23 had been rejected. The number of nomination lists accepted from the Gampaha District was 106, while the number rejected was 40. 35 from Kalutara, 14 from Kandy and 23 from the Matale District had been turned down. 15 nominations from the Nuwara Eliya District were rejected.

The Elections Chief said that the number rejected from Galle was 16, Matara 10 and Hambantota 11. The highest number of nominations of political parties rejected had been from Jaffna. It was 17 Three nominations from Independent Groups had also been rejected. The number rejected from Kilinochchi was seven and Mannar was the only District where a single nomination list had not been rejected. 31 nominations from this District were accepted. The number rejected from Vavuniya was three, Mullaitivu two and Batticaloa eight. The number turned down from Ampara was 48. In Trincomalee it was 29 and Kurunegala 34.  27 nomination lists from Puttalam were rejected, while 10 from Anuradhapura were rejected. In the Polonnaruwa District, a total of 14 nomination lists were rejected. From Badulla it was 14 and Moneragala eight.

The number turned down from Ratnapura was 19. The total number rejected from Kegalla was 20. The Elections Commissioner declared that overall, a total of 1597 nominations had been accepted.