United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Elections held for 234 Local Councils

Mar 17, 2011 11:05:59 AM - itnnews.lk

The conduct of polls through out the island to elect representatives from the village for the administration of the village has successfully ended. All ballot boxes are being received at the District Counting Centres.

The people through out the islands displayed keen enthusiasm in electing their representatives who will steer the country towards development.

People exercised their franchise at 316 centres in the Hambantota District in the Southern Province. The District will elect 117 representatives for the local bodies. Votes were cast at 486 centres in the Galle District. The number of members to be elected is 179. Voting took place in Matara from 7.00 a.m. at 373 centres. The number of representatives to be elected to local bodies of the Matara District is 173. According to our correspondents, voting in every electoral district in the Southern Province was peaceful.

A peaceful environment prevailed from this morning in the Central Province in which many different communities live. Prime Minister D.M. Jayaratne cast his vote in Gampola. Voting took place at 459 centres in the Kandy District, while there were 225 polling booths in the Matale District. Polling was conducted 374 centres in the Nuwara Eliya District. Voting opened at 7.00 a.m and closed at 4.00 p.m. The ballot boxes of these three Districts are now being received at the counting centres.

Voting at 900 centres of the North Western Province which has many local councils commenced at 7.00 a.m. 263 members will be elected or local bodies of the Kurunegala District while 102 members will be elected for local councils in the Puttalam District. Our Correspondent said that voting was peaceful and successful,.

All arrangements including security were in place to consolidate a free and fair poll in the Colombo District. Voters exercised their franchise at 171 centres. Our representatives said that the counting centres had received almost all the ballot boxes.

Voting in the Kalutara District took place at 560 centres. They will be electing 224 members. Ballot boxes are being received at the counting centres from remote areas.

The people of the North after being liberated from the terrorist were afforded an opportunity to franchise their votes. Although elections were not held at several places in Jaffna poling for several local bodies in the Wanni District was held.

Elections were also held for a number of local bodies of the Eastern Province. There were 176 polling booths for Trincomalee, 340 booths for Ampara and 77 for Batticaloa. Elections were conducted in a peaceful atmosphere.

Except for two local bodies, elections were conducted for all other local councils in the Gampaha District. The people displayed keen enthusiasm in casting their ballots in the district. They were able to exercise their franchise sans any obstructions or violence.

The people of the Sabaragamuwa Province displayed keen enthusiasm in exercising their franchise at 764 centres. Elections in the Ratnapura District were conducted at 402 centres and in the Kegalle District at 362 centres. 157 representatives will be elected for local bodies in Ratnapura while 147 members will be elected for local councils in the Kegalle District.

According to our correspondent the people of Rajarata were keenly interested in electing representatives to serve their villages. More than 451,000 voters in the Anuradhapura district were eligible to exercise their franchise. The number of polling booths established for voting in the Polonnaruwa District was 150.

Our correspondents pointed out that voting was peaceful amidst maximum security in the Uva Province. There were 487 election booths for the Batticaloa District. Voters in Monaragala cast their ballots at 237 centres. The ballot boxes are being received at the counting centres.

ITN has made all arrangements to announce the results as soon as they are being released.