United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Electricity Board Directors resign. New Chairman is Prof. Wimaladharma Abeywickrema

Jun 6, 2011 12:14:21 PM - itnnews.lk

Prof. Wimaladharma Abeywickrema is the new Chairman of the Ceylon Electricity Board. Nihal Wickremasuriya has been appointed as the new General Manager of the Board.


The Board of Directors including Electricity Board Chairman Vidya Amarapala handed in their resignation today. Mr. Amarapala said that by handing over their resignations the Power and Energy Minister was able to appoint a new board according to his will.

The new Chairman Prof. Wimaladharma Abeywickrema had earlier served as the Chairman of the Central Environment Authority and the National Atomic energy Authority. The new General Manager Nihal Wickremasuriya is due to assume duties on Thursday. He is a graduate in Electrical Engineering of the Moratuwa University. He has previously held various designations in the Electricity Board.