United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Stage set for the mini poll

Jul 22, 2011 1:25:58 PM - itnnews.lk

The stage is set for the conduct of elections for 65 Local Councils to elect representatives for the villages.

The highest number of Local Bodies for which polling will be held tomorrow is in the Jaffna District. Voting will take place for 16 Local Bodies. Elections will be held for the Velvettithurai, Point Pedro and Chavakachcheri Urban Councils and the Karainagar, Kayts, Delft, Valikamam South, Valikamam Niritha, Vadamarachchi Niritha, Point Pedro, Chavakachcheri and Nallur Pradeshiya Sabhas. Voting will begin at 7.00 a.m. Three Local Councils will go to poll in the Kilinochchi District. They are the Pachchilaipalli, Karachchi and Punakarai Pradeshiya Sabhas.
The Kaduwala Municipal Council, The Kesbewa Urban Council and the Homagama Pradeshiya Sabha are the three Local Councils for which polls will be held in the Colombo District. The Minuwangoda Urban Council and the Attanagalla Pradeshiya Sabha will go to the polls in the Gampaha District. Polling will also take place for the Agalawatte Pradeshiya Sabha in the Kalutara District and the Talawakelle Lindula Pradeshiya Sabha in the Nuwara Eliya District. The Harispattuwa, Akurana and Yatinuwara Pradeshiya Sabhas in the Kandy District will also go to the polls.
People’s representatives will be elected to the Wilgamuwa and Ukuwala Pradeshiya Sabhas in the Matale District. Elpitiya, Baddegama and Akmeemana Pradeshiya Sabhas in the Galle District will also elect their representatives. Elections are scheduled to take place for the Karaitivu and Thirukkovil Pradeshiya Sabhas in the Ampara District and for the Seruwila, Kantale, Kuchchaveli and Trincomalee Local Bodies in the Trincomalee District. Polling will take place for the Giribawa, Kuliyapitiya, Polgahawala and Mawthagama Pradeshiya Sabhas in the Kurunegala District. The Elections Secretariat said that polls are scheduled to take place for the Chilaw Urban Council and the Nawagattegama, Chilaw and Wennappuwa Pradeshiya Sabhas in the Puttalam District.
Three Local Councils will go to polls in the Anuradhapura District. They are the Nuwaragam Palatha Central, Rajangana and Galnewa Pradeshiya Sabhas. Elahera, Hingurakgoda and Welikanda Local bodies in the Polonnaruwa District will also elect members. In the Moneragala District, the Siyambalanduwa and Moneragala Pradeshiya Sabhas will elect members. The Embilipitiya Urban Council and the Ratnapura, Balangoda and Weligepola Pradeshiya Sabhas will go to polls from the Ratnapura District. The Kegalle Urban Council and the Warakapola and Ruwanwella Pradeshiya Sabhas are due to elect members from the Kegalla Duistrict. Accordingly, the number of voters eligible to go to polls tomorrow is 2,850,154.