United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer


Jul 29, 2011 5:09:43 AM - itnnews.lk

Former skipper Kumar Sangakkara is nominated for International Cricket Council’s second annual LG People’s Choice Award for his outstanding performances during the past year.

Sangakkara is among five other cricketers short listed for the second edition of the award. The other four are, South African batsman Hashim Amla, India’s ICC Cricket World Cup winning skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Chris Gayle from the West Indies, and England’s Jonathan Trott.
They have been nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts headed by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, along with Pakistan’s Zaheer Abbas, England’s Mike Gatting, South Africa’s Paul Adams and New Zealand’s Danny Morrison. In a media release, ICC said fans across the globe will have the opportunity to decide the winner, voting via www.lgpeopleschoice.com.
Voting will be open until 11am GMT on 25 August. The winner will be announced on September 12 at the LG ICC Awards in London. The LG ICC Awards is now a prestigious event in the cricketing calendar.
Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar won the award last year at the inaugural ICC LG award ceremony.