United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

sanga captain,Five England players in ICC Test Team

Aug 28, 2011 2:30:43 PM - www.ft.lk

England’s new status as the top team in world cricket was reflected on Friday when five of their players were named in the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test Team of the Year.
Batsmen Alastair Cook and Jonathan Trott were joined by all-rounder Stuart Broad, fast bowler James Anderson and spinner Graeme Swann, in a side picked by a selection panel chaired by West Indies batting great Clive Lloyd.

South African paceman Dale Steyn was selected for the fourth year in a row, while Indian batting master Sachin Tendulkar made his third successive appearance in the line-up.
“The selection of this year’s Test team was a difficult one with so many worthy candidates available to fill just 12 places,” said Lloyd.
“The team has a formidable line-up that bats well down the order and has bowlers with the ability and form to dismiss any opposition twice on any surface.”
Cook, Trott, Hashim Amla of South Africa and reigning award-holder Tendulkar have also been shortlisted for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award, which will be presented at a ceremony in London in September.
The England pair also made the shortlist for the ICC Test Player of the Year award, alongside teammate Anderson and South Africa’s Jacques Kallis.
ICC Test team of the Year:
Alastair Cook (ENG), Hashim Amla (RSA), Jonathan Trott (ENG), Sachin Tendulkar (IND), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI; wkt/capt), AB de Villiers (RSA), Jacques Kallis (RSA), Stuart Broad (ENG), Graeme Swann (ENG), Dale Steyn (RSA), James Anderson (ENG), Zaheer Khan (IND; twelfth man)

Business: (Latest Stories)