United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

President appoints four new members to party central committee

Sep 5, 2011 3:27:35 PM - www.ft.lk

Colombo: President Mahinda Rajapaksa, the leader of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) the main constituent of the UPFA, has appointed four new members to the party central committee.
The appointments were made under the powers vested in him as the party leader.

The newly appointed central committee members include Minister of Media and Information Keheliya Rambukwella, Minister of Cooperatives and Internal Trade Johnston Fernando, Minister of Resettlement Gunarathna Weerakoon and national list MP Kamala Ranatunga.
Kamala Ranatunga is a veteran SLFP women’s wing leader who was offered a national list parliamentary seat by the President.
Minister Johnston Fernando crossed over to the government from opposition United National Party in 2010 and Minister Rambukwella crossed over from the UNP and joined the government in 2006. (Colombo Page)

Business: (Latest Stories)