United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Aravinda de Silva takes over as chief selector

May 26, 2010 8:00:00 PM - aussieindolanka.com
Former Sri Lankan captain Aravinda de Silva has been named chairman of a new four-member national selection committee by sports minister Chandrasiri Bandara Ratnayake on Wednesday. The other members of the committee are Ranjith Fernando, Amal Silva and Shabbir Asgerally. All four members have served in the capacity as selectors in previous committees. The new panel replaces the one headed by Ashantha de Mel and also included Don Anurasiri, Vinothen John and Chaminda Mendis. de Mel and Anurasiri have been selectors for the past four years. de Silva, 44, is best remembered for playing the key role in his country winning their only World Cup in 1996 when he scored a century in the final against Australia at Lahore.   www.cricinfo.com/srilanka/content/current/story/461003.html