United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

The BOC Inter Provincial 4 Day Tournament Awards

Jul 28, 2010 8:41:10 AM - srilankacricket.lk

Bank of Ceylon in association with Sri Lanka Cricket felicitated the winning
teams and presented Bank of Ceylon Trophy for the joint Winners Basnahira
North & Basnahira South and the individual awards for the best batsman, best
bowler, and player of the tournament in the recently concluded Sri Lanka’s
Premier four day inter provincial tournament which was sponsored by Bank of
The four day tournament was played over six weeks with five premier teams
competing in a competitive championship at which national selectors were
able to identify potential players for the national team.

Secretary SLC ‘Nishantha Ranatunga’ paid tribute to the Chairman of Bank of
Ceylon for helping Sri Lanka Cricket with the sponsorship which not only
enabled SLC to conduct the tournament but also opened a gateway to identify
future hopefuls, which has helped SLC with an excellent bench strength.
Secretary also added the competition also helped the players to prepare well
for the ongoing test series. He was optimistic that success in the Indian
Test series and the forthcoming West Indies series will help Sri Lanka climb
the ladder in the ICC ratings. He thanked the bank profusely for their
support which has helped SLC to achieve the above.

Chairman Sri Lanka Cricket D.S.De Silva together with Chairman Bank of
Ceylon Dr Gamine Wickramasinghe graced the occasion. Chief executive officer
of Sri Lanka Cricket, Duleep Mendis presented the award for the best batsmen
to Dilshan Munaweera of Basnahira North, while former test star & Sports
Facilitator of Bank of Ceylon Brendon Kuruppu Gave away the best bowler’s
award to right arm leg spinner Malinga Bandara. Chairman Sri Lanka Cricket
D.S.De Silva made the presentation to Janaka Gunaratne of Basnahira South,
who was adjudicated as the player of the tournament.

Basnahira South and Basnahira North were declared as joint Champions.