Playoff at the PGA as Johnson penalized
Aug 15, 2010 7:40:00 PM - thestate.com
Dustin Johnson was 7 feet away from winning the PGA Championship. Minutes later, he was given a two-shot penalty for grounding his club in a bunker and missed a playoff at Whistling Straits.
In the most bizarre ruling at a major since Roberto de Vicenzo's scorecard gaffe in the 1968 Masters, Johnson was penalized for grounding his club in a bunker along the 18th fairway.
Bubba Watson and Martin Kaymer of Germany headed for the 10th hole to start the three-hole playoff without him.
Johnson, who had a one-shot lead on the 18th hole, made a bogey on the final hole for a 71 and 11-under total. The penalty turned that into a 73 and he tied for fifth.
THIS IS A BREAKING NEWS UPDATE. Check back soon for further information. AP's earlier story is below.
USA, South Carolina: (Latest Stories)