United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

MAJOR LEAGUE TIER B: Galle CC drub Police by 10 wickets, others drawn

Jan 10, 2018 2:42:24 AM - srilankacricket.lk


Galle CC drubbed Police by 10 wickets in a Tier A match of the Major League Tournament during the week while the remaining three matches between Panadura and Lankan CC, Kurunegela YCC and Kalutara TC and Air Force and Navy were drawn.

At Police Park, Galle CC shot out Police for 95 with R.M.G.K. Sirisoma claiming 5 wickets for 24 and W.L.P. Fernando 5 for 49. Galle CC rattled up 315 for a first innings lead of 220. K.H.R.K. Fernando made 65, W.L.P. Fernando 64 and D.N. Hunukumbura 53. N.Vimukthi took 6 for 103.

Police just managed to avoid an innings defeat totalling 228 in the second innings. Chief scorers were N. Vimukthi 65 and R.M.T. Dilshan 64. R.M.G.K. Sirisoma claimed 6 wickets for 91.

Chief Scores:

Police 95

(R.M.G.K. Sirisoma 5/24, W.L.P. Fernando 5/49).

And 228

(N. Vimukthi  65, R.M.T. Dilshan 64. R.M.G.K. Sirisoma 6/91).

Galle CC 315

(K.H.R.K. Fernando 65, W.L.P. Fernando 64, D.N. Hunukumbura 53, N. Vimukthi 6/103).

And 11/0

Meanwhile, the Kurunegela YCC versus Kalutara TC match ended in a high scoring draw at the Welagedera Stadium. Kurunegela YCC, taking first lease, posted 405 for 9 declared with D. Perera top scoring with 88. Other contributions were from E.M.K.K.R. Ekanayake 72, K.W.B.P. Keppetipola 59 not out, D. Dharmasiri 52 and S. Dassanayake 46.

Kalutara TCC replied with 305 anchored by a fine 92 by number ten batsman N. Kariyawasam and V.K.G. Perera 86. K.S. Sampath made 43. K. Sineth picked 3 for 73.

Kurunegela YCC were 200 for 4 wickets at the close. S. Dassanayake top scored with 68, M.L. Cooray an unbeaten 60 and C.S. Mendis 58.

Chief Scores:

Kurunegela YCC 405/9 decl.

(D. Perera 88, E.M.K.K.R. Ekanayake 72, K.W.B.P. Keppetipola 59 n.o., D. Dharmasiri 52, S. Dassanayake 46).

And 200/4

(S. Dassanayake 68, M.L. Cooray 60, C.S. Mendis 58).

Kalutara TCC 305

(N. Kariyawasam 92, V.K.G. Perera 86, K.S. Sampath 43, K. Sineth 3//73).

Time foiled Panadura S.C. from beating Lankan CC who were 208 for 8 wickets chasing 284 at the Panadura Esplanade.

Batting first, Panadura S.C. made 218 with Pakistani player Kashif Naved top scoring with 50. Lankan CC replied with 269 steered by a century by A.B.L.D. Rodrigo who scored 103.

Panadura S.C. ran up 334 in the second innings with H.F.M.S. Fonseka stroking 75, P.G. C.S.A. Pussegolla 67 and S. Peiris 53.  Peiris chipped in with a fine all-round performance having claimed 7 wickets for 82 in Lankan CC’s first innings.

Chief Scores:

Panadura S.C. 218

(K. Naved 50, H.F.M.S. Fonseka 39, S. Peiris 31, D. Malan 3/42, N.M. Kavikara 4/80).

And 334

(H.F.M.S. Fonseka 75, P.G. C.S.A. Pusesegolla 67, S. Peiris 53, V. Chathuranga 44, M. Rameez 34, L.A.C. Ruwansiri 4/91, N.M. Kavikara  3/86).

 Lankan CC 269

(A.B.L.D. Rodrigo 103, L.A.C. Ruwansiri 48, S. Peiris 7/82)

And 208/8

(L.A.C. Ruwansiri 46, H.S.M. Soysa 38, T.J. Madanayake n.o. 33, G.D. Bandara 5/51).

The Air Force versus Navy match ended in a draw at Welisara.

Taking first lease, Air Force totalled 304 on a century by S.A.D.U. Mihiran who made 115. Navy replied with 85 with Sri Lanka cap B. Hasaranga top scoring with 93.

Air Force declared on 326 for 6 wickets with U. Parakrama slamming 155.  Set 346 to win Navy were 108 for 3 when stumps were drawn.

Chief Scores:

Air Force 304

(S.A.D.U. Mihiran 115, R. Gunawardene 49, C.H.H.L. Chamikara 32, M.T.E. Iddamalgoda 4/39, H.G.S. Dakshina 3/68).

And 326/6 decl.

 (U. Parakrama 155, S. C.H.H.L. Chamikara 59, Lakshan 41,  K. Edusuriya 3/54).

Navy 285

(B. Hasaranga 93, K. Edusuriya 56, M.T.E. Iddamalgoda 42, I. Abeysekera 31, W.S. Rangika 5/85).

And 108/3

(M.A.M. Alfar 46, D.E. Maduwansha n.o. 24, P.W.B. Sandaruwan 3/37).

 By Srian Obeyesekere