United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Panadura SC humble Galle CC by an innings and 25 runs; Three drawn

Jan 23, 2018 6:04:10 AM - srilankacricket.lk


Panadura SC humbled Galle CC by an innings and 25 runs at the Galle International Stadium last week in what was the only win of the four final round matches of the Major League Tier B Tournament. The three drawn encounters were between Kalutara TC and Lankan CC, Negombo CC – Police, Kurunegela YCC – Police.

Panadura SC made the most of the Galle turf in dictating terms to hosts Galle CC who were bowled out for 217 in the first innings. Panadura SC batters went on a run spree posting 433. Galle CC were dismissed for 191 in the second innings.

Panadura’s main run getter was Pakistani player Kasif Naved who led the way with a fine century stroking 159. S. Peiris made 84, M.R. Fernando 68 and W.A.A. Kavindu 42. R.M.G.K. Sirisoma claimed 4 for 102 and Gohar Faiz 3 for 135.

Chief Scores:                                                   

Galle CC 217

(K.H.R.K. Fernando 55, T.C.B. Fernando 42, L.M.E.K. Sirisoma 30,

M.V.D. Perera 4/40, M. Rameez 2/31, W.S. Madushan 2/43).

And 191

(D.N. Hunukumbura 70, G.D. Bandara 4/41, W.S. Madushan 4/59).

Panadura SC 433

(K. Naved 159, S. Peiris 84, M.R. Fernando 68, W.A.A. Kavindu 42. R.M.G.K. Sirisoma 4/102 G. Faiz 3/135)


Lankan CC dominated proceedings against Kalutara CC in the drawn match at Kalutara. Batting first Lankan CC amassed 534 for 8 wickets declared. S. Fernando scored 122 and A.B.L.D. Rodrigo 121 with other contributions from H.G. Kumara 81, T.J. Madanayake 64 and D.A.Y.L. Samarasinghe 52. N. Nimesh took 2 for 77 and K.K.M.R. Perera 2 for 82.

Kalutara CC replied with 296 with G. Rathnayake stroking 130. H.G. Kumara claimed 4 for 34, N.M. Kavikara 3 for 91 and D.R. Weerasinghe 2 for 54).

Following on Kalutara CC did well to foil Kalutara CC from victory closing on 263 for 5 wickets. The mainstay was P.K.J.R.N. Nonis who compiled 117 with fine support from N. Gamage who made 97. T.  Madanayake picked 2 for 34 and D.R.F. Weerasinghe 2 for 45.

Chief Scores:

Lankan CC 534/8 decl.

(S. Fernando 122, A.B.L.D. Rodrigo 121, H.G. Kumara 81, T.J. Madanayake 64, D.A.Y.L. Samarasinghe 52. N. Nimesh took 2/77, K.K.M.R. Perera 2/82).

Kalutara CC 296

(G. Rathnayake 130. H.G. Kumara 4/34, N.M. Kavikara 3/91, D.R. Weerasinghe 2/54).

And 263/5

 (P.K.J.R.N. Nonis 117, N. Gamage 97. T. Madanayake 2/34, D.R.F. Weerasinghe 2/45).

Negombo CC fell short of claiming the last wicket of Police who hung on for a draw on 288 for 9 having been set 355 to win at Gampaha.

Taking first lease, Negombo CC made 178 and shot out Police for 100 with V. Chathuranga claiming 5 for 43 having also excelled with the bat top scoring for his side with 56. V. N. Vimukthi claimed 5 for 56 and W.W.A.K.R. Fernando 5 for 79.

Top scorer for Police in the second essay was R.M.T. Dilshan who stroked 102. S. Dushantha made 80 and K.A.D.M. Fernando an unbeaten on 52.

Negombo CC declared the second innings on 276 for 9 wickets. W.P.S. Fernando made 70, W.M.S. Dias 55, K.P.S.A.M. Weerasinghe 53 and A.M. Inham 50. W.W.A.K.R. Fernando took 5 for 98 and N. Vimuukthi 4/95).

Chief Scores:

Negombo CC 178

(V. Chathuranga 56. V. N. Vimukthi 5/56, W.W.A.K.R. Fernando 5/79).

And 276/9 decl.

 (W.P.S. Fernando 70, W.M.S. Dias 55, K.P.S.A.M. Weerasinghe 53, A.M. Inham 50, W.W.A.K.R. Fernando 5/98, N. Vimukthi 4/95).

Police 100

(V. Chathuranga 5/43).

And 288/9

(R.M.T. Dilshan 102, S. Dushantha 80, K.A.D.M. Fernando 52, K.P.S. Weerasinghe 3/39, M.L.R. Karunaratne 2/82, J.V. Chathuranga 2/104).

Time robbed Kurunegela YCC of victory over Air Force who were 288 for 8 at stumps having been set 325 to win at Katunayake.

Chief Scores:

Kurunegela YCC 286

(S. Dassanayake 63, H. Prabath 56, C.M. Mendis 40, D. Perera 30, H. James 3/29, M. Priyanath 3/61, A. Lakshan 2/75).

And 196

(C. Samantha 6/57, H. James 2/50).

Air Force 158

(C.H.H. Chamikara 45, H. James 34, S. Tyronne 4/29,  L.M.K.K.Wijeratne 3/34).

And 261/8

(S. Lakshan 75, R.P. Thattil 46, S.A.D.U. Mihiran 39, H. James 37, S. Dassanayake 2/36).

By Srian Obeyesekere 

-The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Sri Lanka Cricket-