United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Saracens shock SSC by 4 wickets, Chilaw Marians beat Galle, NCC defeat Badureliya, Colts beat Army

Mar 13, 2018 3:02:00 AM - srilankacricket.lk


Saracens SC, NCC and Colts CC won their respective matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Premier League 50-Over Tournament. The rest of the matches ended in no decisions. Saracens shocked the strong SSC by four wickets with 8 overs to spare in a Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Premier League 50-Over Tournament match played at the FTZ Grounds, Katunayake on Friday.

Chasing 221 to win, Saracens was propelled by a superb century by opening batsman A.D. Solomons who struck 124 off 87 balls containing 16 boundaries and 5 sixes. He put on 43 for the first wicket with R. Gunasekera who held up one end scoring 6. From there Solomons found good support from P.T.M. Dabare who made 12 off 21 balls in adding 59 for the second wicket as Saracens reached 102 for 2 in 14 overs. Saracens maintained a steady run rate of 5.6 an over to take control of the match reaching 189 for 5 wickets by the 31st over. The final touches were put by M. Jaleel who remained unbeaten on 17 off 30 who played a composed knock plonking on the ones and twos and K.V.N. Nirmal not out on 14 off 39 hitting a boundary. The seventh wicket partnership realized 31.

SSC batting first totaled an impressive total of 221 with Sri Lanka player Dimuth Karunaratne striking 65 off 72 balls upfront inclusive of 6 boundaries. SSC recovered from 1 wicket for 19 and 2 for 30 to 3 for 109 with Karunaratne putting on 79 with Chamara Kapugedera for the third wicket. Kapugedera made 34 off 37 with 5 boundaries. But with Karunaratne exiting with the total on 120, SSC lost way with wickets falling at regular intervals.Dhammika Prasad contributed with 36 off 57 balls containing 3 boundaries.

Meanwhile, in a continuation of his fine form that took Chilaw Marians to the championship title of the SLC Major League Super 8,

All-rounder Shehan Jayasuriya struck 161 in his side defeating Galle CC on the D/L.  Chilaw Marians made 318 for 8 in 50 overs and restricted Galle to 135 for 5 wickets in revised 34 overs.

Mahela Udawatte struck 117 and A.K. Perera 106 as NCC beat Badureliya CC by 83 runs on revised D/L. Batting first NCC rattled up 326 for 5 in 50 overs at NCC grounds. Badureliya were restricted to 139 for 7 in 29 overs on the revised D/L.

Colts CC overhauled Army by 2 wickets at Panagoda. Colts made 240 for 8 in 48.5 overs in reply to Army’s 237 for 9 in 50 overs with Sadeera Samarawickrema stroking a superb unbeaten 124.

Chief Scores:

SSC 220  (50 Overs, RR: 4.40).

(D. Karunaratne 65, C. Kapugedera 34, .D. Prasad 36, P.A.S.S. Jeewantha 3/33, D.K.R.C. Jayatissa 3/41).

Saracens 221/6 ((42 Overs, RR: 5.26)

(A.D. Solomons 124, P.T.M. Dabare 12 off 21 balls in adding 59 for the second wicket as M. Jaleel n.o. 17, K.V.N. Nirmal n.o.14, S. Senanayake 2/21).

Chief Scores:

At Bloomfield Grounds – Bloomfield vs. Negombo CC – No result.

Bloomfield 240/9 (50 overs).

(N. Franscisco 69, S.A.N.. Fernando 35, S. Silva 5/51)

Negombo CC 108/6 (15 overs).

(L. Crusepulle n.o.31, K.M.M. de Silva /26).

At CCC Grounds – BRC vs CCC – No result.

CCC 222/8 (50 overs)

(M. Warnapura 56, L.D. Madushanka n.o. 49, R. Chandraguptha 35, E.M. Edirisinghe 3/38 ,H. Ramanayake 2/25)

BRC 51/5 (14 overs)

(P.L.S. Gamage 22/1, A. Priyanan 2/17)

At FTZ Grounds, Katunayake –  Chilaw Marians beat  Galle CC on D/L.

Chilaw Marians  318/8  (50 overs)

(S. Jayasuriya 161, R.V. Gomez 54, B.O.P. Fernando 47, U.S.M. Sanjeewa 4/58,  K.H. Fernando 2/48)

Galle CC 135/5 (34 overs)

(H.M. Raapakse 56, S.E. Senanayake 2/21).

At NCC Grounds – NCC beat Badureliya CC by 83 runs on revised D/L. 

NCC 326/5 (50 overs).

( M. Udawatte 117, A.K. Perera 106, S. Fernando 2/66, N.M. Subasinghe 2/77).

Mahela Udawatte struck 117 and A.K. Perera 106 as NCC beat Badureliya CC by 83 runs on revised D/L. Batting first NCC rattled up 326 for 5 in 50 overs at NCC grounds. Badureliya were restricted to 139 for 7 in 29 overs on the revised D/L.

At Moors Grounds – Moors SC vs  SLPorts Authority – No result

Moors 285/9 (50 overs).

(I.S.S. Samarasooriya 139, T.M.S.A. Baduge48, M.A. Liyanapathiranage 41, L.P.C. Silva 39, W. Wimarshana 3/33).

At Panadura Esplanade – Panadura SC vs. Kurunegela YCC  Rain reduced 40 overs. – No result.

Kurunegela YCC 102/8 (29 overs)

(B.A.N. Fernando 2/15, M.V.D. Perera 3/16).

At Police Park – Police vs. Air Force – No result.

Air Force 204 (49.3 overs).

(S.L. Fernando 50, U. Parakrama 39, S.A.D.U. Mihiran 38, K.P.W. Priyadharshana 3/38, H.M. Jayawardena 2/24, B.B. Sanjeewa 2/43).

Police 101/5 (12.2 overs).

At P. Saravanamuththu Stadium – Tamil Union vs. Kalutara T.C. – No result.

Tamil Union 200 (48.5 overs).

(T. Paranavithana 78, K.P.S.Karunaratne 45, N. Kariyawasam 6/33).

Kalutara TC 64/5 (11.5 overs).

By Srian Obeyesekere