United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Pakistan Women’s Team win second game by 94

Mar 22, 2018 9:46:13 AM - srilankacricket.lk


Pakistan Women’s Team beat the Sri Lanka Women’s Team by 94 runs for a 2-0 lead to clinch the 3-match 50-Over International Series at the Rangiri Dambulla Stadium today.

In the ICC world cup qualifying series, the Pakistan lasses totaled 250 for 6 wickets in 50 overs with skipper Bismah Maroof top scoring with a run a ball 89 inclusive of 9 boundaries and a six. The Sri Lankan lasses were all out for 156 in 37 overs with Sripali Weerakkody top scoring with 29 off 28 balls with 5 boundaries.

Winning the toss and batting first Pakistan maintained a run rate of 5.0 an over with skipper Maroof leading the way. Nida Dar made the next highest of 38 off 46 balls striking 2 boundaries. Shashikala Siriwardene, Inoka Ranaweera and skipper Camari Atapattu claimed a wicket apiece.

Bismah Maroof

Sri Lanka Women’s Team lost wickets at regular intervals precipitating to 6 for 67. A seventh wicket alliance of 34 runs between Ama Kanchana who made 24 and Sripali Weerakkody an unbeaten 29 revived the innings before Kanchana was dismissed.

She struck 4 boundaries. Weerakkody went on to rally the innings from 106 for 9 to 156 through a last wicket partnership of 50 runs with Kumari Baig who made 17 off 34 with 3 boundaries. Weerakkody’s 28-ball knock contained 5 boundaries. Skipper Chamari Atapattu made 24 off 23 opening the innings and Kumarihami 24 apiece.

Sana Mir had a 4 wicket haul for 32 runs.

Chief Scores:

Pakistan Women’s Team 250/6 (50 Overs)

(Bismah Maroof 89, Nida Dar 38, Muneeba Ali 31, Nahida Khan 29, Sana Mir n.o. 27)

Sri Lanka Women’s Team 156 (50 Overs).

(Sripali Weerakkody 29, Chamari Atapattu n.o. 24,

P.R.C.S. Kumarihami 24, B.M.S.M. Kumari 17, Sana Mir 4/32 runs)

By Srian Obeyesekere

-The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Sri Lanka Cricket-