United States Massachusetts change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Kandy emerge SLC U23 Women’s Super-Provincial Champs; Galle the runners-up

Apr 6, 2018 11:21:12 AM - srilankacricket.lk


Kandy emerged champions in the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Under-23 Super Provincial Tournament which was concluded on Wednesday. The runners-up were Galle. Kandy received the champions trophy and cash award of Rs.100, 000/= and Galle the runners-up trophy and cash award of Rs.75, 000/=.

Malsha Shehani of Kandy was adjudged the Player of the Tournament. Sathya Sandeepani of Galle won the Best Batswoman award and Sayani Oshadi of Kandy the Best Bowler respectively.

The tournament concluded the same day with the Kandy lasses continuing their good run in the tournament defeating Colombo on the first innings by 23 runs at Bandaragama.

Meanwhile, Galle beat Dambulla by one wicket scoring 88 for 9 wickets after bowling out Dambulla for 87 play at the Aaron grounds, Horana.

The Kandy versus Colombo match took an interesting turn with both sides topping the three figure mark. Colombo totaled 118 with Hasini Perera top scoring with 27 followed by Tharika Sewwandi making 23. Malsha Shehani had a haul of 4 for 29 and Umesha Thimeshani 4 for 36 for Kandy.

Kandy ran up a healthy 141 for 6 with Malsha Shehani stroking an unbeaten 48 and Umesha Thimeshani 48 as well when rain curtailed play.

Galle’s Sathya Sandeepani claimed 4 wickets for 24 and Kaveesha Dilhari 3 for 19.

In the Galle versus Dambulla match, Galle was bolstered by Lanka Mendis who made 20 and Iresha  Chathurani 17 in taking their side to victory. Shasini Fernando took the bowling honours for Dambulla picking 4 for 29.

Galle’s Sathya Sandeepani claimed 4 wickets for 24 and Kaveesha Dilhari 3 for 19 in bowling out Dambulla for 87.

Chief Scores:

At the Aaron Grounds Horana – Galle beat Dambulla on the first innings

Dambulla 87 all out

(Shasini Fernando 19, Lihini  Apaara 18, Kaveesha Dilhari  3/19,

Sathya Sandeepani 4/24).

Galle 88/9

(Lanka Mendis 20, Iresha  Chathurani 17, Shasini Fernando  4/29/)

At Bandaragama – Kandy beat Colombo on the first innings by 23 runs

Colombo 118

(Hasini Perera 27, Tharika  Sewwandi  23, Malsha Shehani 29/4, Umesha Thimeshani 4/36).

Kandy 141/6

(Umesha Thimeshani 48, Malsha Shehani n.o. 48, Tharika Sewwandi 2/31,

Malsha Rathnathunga 2/23).

By Srian Obeyesekere