Sanithu scores century as Wesley win  


Under 19 Division I Limited Overs Cricket  

by Reemus Fernando  

Sanithu Amarasinghe top scored with 111 runs and put on two big partnerships with Chamath Gomez (86) and Uvin Perera as Wesley rode on the strength of their top order batting department to record 180 runs win over Gurukula in the Under 19 Division I limited overs tournament Tier ‘A’  match at Campbell Park on Wednesday.

 Wesley posted 362 runs, the day’s highest team total, before Chamath Gomez and Shakesh Minon shared seven wickets between them to restrict Gurukula.

In the other Tier ‘A’ matches, St. Benedict’s overcame Prince of Wales, St. Joseph’s beat Royal and St. Anthony’s, Katugastota beat S. Thomas’ by five wickets.

 In the Tier ‘B’ tournament, Thurstan produced a stunning comeback victory. After losing five wickets for 20 runs, they fought back to post 198 runs in 47 overs as Thenuka Devapriya and Ushan Imesha scored half centuries. In their essay which was reduced to 45 overs with a target of 195 (parabola method), St. Aloysius’ could muster only 164 runs.

 The Tier ‘B’ match between Zahira and Lumbini was notable for the centuries made by Nabeel Rajudeen and Raeed Rizwan.

The day’s best bowling figures were produced by Pathum Vihaga who took six wickets for 33 runs to lead St. Anthony’s Wattala to 29 runs. In the other Tier ‘B’ match Mahinda beat Dharmaraja.


Tier ‘A’   

St. Benedict’s beat Prince of Wales by 141 runs at Kotahena


St. Benedict’s

287 for 6 in 50 overs (Sheron Kannangara 47, Sharujan Shanmuganathan 104n.o., Chamath Chathurya 28, Shenel Samarathunga 65; Prince Fernando 3/46)  

Prince of Wales

146 all out in 34.3 overs (Rivith Jayasuriya 30, Thusindu Deemantha 28, Kenul de Zoysa 20, Meshith de Silva 25; Vihara Aththanayake 5/27) 

St. Joseph’s beat Royal by three wickets at Reid Avenue  



232 for 7 in 50 overs (Sineth Jayawardena 73, Sanvidu Senaratharachchi 36, Sandesh Ramanayake 50, Ranuka Malaviarachchi 22; Lahiru Amarasekara 2/36, Yenula Dewthusa 2/34)  

St. Joseph’s

233 for 7 in 46.4 overs (Sahan Dabare 42, Shevon Daniel 52, Hiran Jayasundara 42, Lahiru Amarasekara 34; Sineth Jayawardena 3/38, Abishek Iddawela 2/48) 

 St. Anthony’s Katugastota beat S. Thomas’ by five wickets at Mount Lavinia


S. Thomas’

122 all out in 46.4 overs (Romesh Mendis 21, Akash Fernando 46; Lahiru Abeysinghe 3/27, Traveen Mathew 2/33, Thisara Ekanayake 2/20)  

St. Anthony’s

125 for 5 in 34 overs (Thisara Ekanayake 38, Kevan Ramika 19; Dineth Goonewardena 2/20) 

 Wesley beat Gurukula by 182 runs at Campbell Park   


Wesley 362 all out in 49.3 overs (Sanithu Amarasinghe 111, Chamath Gomez 86, Uvin Perera 47, Linal Subasinghe 27, Anuga Pahansara 23; Janitha Shehan 2/63, Hiruna Nimsara 3/46)


182 all out in 46.2 overs (Nethan Dishen 43, Denura Demansith 21, Wageesha Amantha 26; Chamath Gomez 3/22, Shakesh Minon 4/28, Nilupul Liyanage 2/39) 

Tier ‘B’  

Lumbini beat Zahira by 25 runs at Maradana



274 for 8 in 50 overs (Nabeel Rajudeen 112, Dhanitha Sandesh 22, Deneth Anjana 92, Dumindu Sewmina 22; Venkat Rajendran 2/61, Raeed Rizwan 3/44, Lakshan de Silva 2/60)  


249 all out in 46.3 overs (Mohamed Yasir 38, Raeed Rizwan 101, Venkat Rajendran 33; Dumindu Sewmina 2/48, Pasindu Mahisha 2/23, Malith Kavindu 3/41) 

St. Anthony’s beat Devapathiraja by 29 runs at Wattala


 St. Anthony’s (Wattala) 219 all out in 49.4 overs (Amitha Sandeepa 53, Pathum Vihaga 22, Vihanga Rashmitha 21, Prasad Maduranga 48, Kavindu Senadi 21; Pathum Shaminda 2/21, Chaminda Sandaruwan 4/21, Irushka Thimira 2/37)


190 all out in 45.2 overs (Darshaka Sandeep 28, Matheesha Saranga 43, Pawan Sandesh 40, Jeewaka Shaheen 28; Shan Aniketh 3/31, Pathum Vihaga 6/33) 

 Mahinda beat Dharmaraja by 69 runs at Galle


 Mahinda 175 for 8 in 42 overs (Dinura Kalupahana 19, Chandupa de Silva 68, Hiruna Mandila 35; Nisala Abeyrathne 3/44, Pulindu Perera 3/36)


106 for 9 in 42 overs (Tharusha Dilshan 2/22, Kaveen Rukshan 2/06, Ranmina Hettiarachchi 2/14) 

Thurstan beat St. Aloysius’ by 31 (parabola method) runs at Galle International Stadium



198 for 8 in 47 overs (Thenuka Devapriya 68, Azeem Mohomed 20, Ushan Imesha 59, Duvindu Nishan 19; Kalana Pathum 4/35, Bashana de Silva 2/26)  

 St. Aloysius’ 164 all out in 43.1 overs (Vidura Lakshan 22, Charya Paranawithana 29, Kavidu Amarasinghe 30; Kavinda Prabath 3/24, Thanuga Palihawadana 2/22, Thenuka Devapriya 2/12)

You may also like


An armed robbery has been reported at a pharmacy in the Pannipitiya area today (26).


President Ranil Wickremesinghe says that discussion on restructuring Sri Lanka s bilateral debt has already commenced with India and China at a lower level and that he is visiting Japan to discuss their role it the process.


We need to show that an airline can be run well when privatized


The Ceylon Petroleum Corporation (CPC) is at war with the Public Utilities Commission of Sri Lanka (PUCSL) over the quality of crude oil. PUCSL Chairman Janaka Ratnayake had alleged that the CPC had imported the wrong type of crude oil which could not be used to generate electricity. Power and Energy Minister Kanchana Wijesekera, however, […]


The Supreme Court has ordered not to proceed with the case against President Ranil Wickremesinghe over the Easter Sunday attacks. The order was given on the basis that Wickremesinghe is the current President. He was the Prime Minister at the time the Easter Sunday attacks took place. The Supreme Court noted that under Article 35(1) […]


Market down for second session

Entertainment:View All

Technology:View All

Local News

Local News

Sri Lanka News

@2022 - All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Rev-Creations, Inc