United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

ITN secures many awards at the Rupavahini Awards festival

Jan 30, 2013 6:47:37 PM - itnnews.lk

The Independent Television bags several awards including the best teledramas for the years 2011/2012. ITN won a galore of Awards at the 8th Rupavahini State Awards ceremony held last night.

The Awards ceremony was organized at the Sirimavo Bandaranaike Exhibition and Convention Hall on a grand scale last night. First Lady Shiranthi Rajapaksa graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. Minister T.B. Ekanayake and several Parliamentarians as well as artistes and media personnel were also present.
The Award for the Best English News Presenter was won by Ifthiya Cader of the Prime TV News Division of the Independent Television Network. The Best Tamil News Presenter Awards was also won by ITN. Accordingly R. Yogaraja of Vasantham TV won the Best Tamil News Presenter’s Award. Sanhinda, a TV programme telecast by ITN also won the Award presented for the Best Musical Programme. It was received by its Producer Udaya Kumara Tennekoon. Janajeewa Wehella of ITN received the Award for the Best TV Trailer Production Award while Pran Wakishta of ITN clinched the Award for the Best dubbing programme.
A special Merit Award was presented by the Jury for ITN’s Tikiri Peya Children’s programme. Its Producer Thushari Gamage received the Award. “Ayal” telecast by ITN was adjudged the best teledrama for the year 2011. Pradeep Dharmadasa who played the leading role in this teledrama received the Best Actor’s Award. Ayal also won the best Director’s Award. Swayanjatha telecast by ITN won the award for the Best Teledrama of 2012. Chathurika Peiris won the Best Actress Awards for her role in this teledrama, while Janak Premalal, who played a leading role in this teledrama won the Best Actor’s Award. Swayanjatha also won the best Director’s Award.
Another outstanding feature was the ITN’s Tamil Channel Vasantham TV securing nine of the 18 Awards presented for a Tamil Channel. Among them were the Best Feature Programme, the Best Presenter and the Best Current Affairs Discussion Programme. A.L. Irfan received the Award for the Best Producer on behalf of the Sutrivarum Bhumi Feature programme. S. Koneneswararaja won the Awards for the best Producer on behalf of the Arogyam Discussional programme. The Thuvanam Discussion programme also grabbed two Awards. S.Danaraj won the best Producer’s Award while Nagapushani Karupiah won the Best Presenter’s Award. Vasantham TV also won the Award for the Best Tamil Television Documentary Programme. It was the Music Café Programme. Its Producer Kaakamutthu Punniyamoorthy received the Award. Shan Ratnayake of Vasantham TV won the Best Tamil. ITN was the sponsor of this year’s State Television Awards Festival.