United States Virginia change
Sri Lanka Breaking News
Sri Lanka parliament
vivalankaSri Lanka newsSri Lanka businessSri Lanka sportsSri Lanka technologySri Lanka travelSri Lanka videosSri Lanka eventssinhala newstamil newsSri Lanka business directory
vivalanka advertising
Stay Connected
Popular Searches
T20 World Cup
Sponsored Links
Sri Lanka Explorer

Greats who conquered the small screen win a host of Awards for ITN

Jun 7, 2014 9:15:01 AM - itnnews.lk

The Channel of the motherland glitters again at the 10th Raigam Tele Awards Festival.

Rana which directed the art of mega tele drama bagged the highest number of Awards amidst the high response of the viewers.

The 10th Raigam Tele Awards Festival was held on a grand scale at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall last night. It was staged with the participation of Parliamentarians including Senior Ministers and Senior State officials. In addition to the response of views and the attraction of the people, the evaluation of tele creations in the Raigam Tele-es took place with the observations of Scholars. Accordingly the “Rana” teledrama became the Award winning teledrama which drew the attention at this year’s Awards Festival.

The first of a new stage mooted by the Independent Television Network on behalf of a high quality in the mega teledrama field of arts, was “Rana” which was produced centering the Ranminitenna Tele cinema village. “Rana” clinched the most popular teledrama of the year at the Raigam Tele-es Awards Festival amidst a high response from the viewer community.

Jagath Chamila who played a role in “Rana” secured the Most Popular Actor’s Award of the Year while the Most Popular Actress Award was clinched by Aasha Edirisinghe also for her contribution to “Rana” which was telecast by ITN.

“Rana” was produced within an attractive environment in the Ranminitenna Tele Village by a group which included veteran and talented script writers, outstanding artistes, skilled directors and art directors. The teledrama which won the hearts of the people was adjudged the most popular tele creation at this Awards Festival. Nilukshi Fernando who played the leading role in the teledrama Sanda telecast by ITN bagged the Best Actress Award.

Pethum Rukshan who acted in the “Sanda” teledrama which was telecast by ITN won the upcoming star Award. The Best supporting teledrama Actor’s award was also won by ITN. Kumara Thrimadurai who played a role in the “Sanda” telecrama was honoured with this Award. The Young Inventors Club telecast by ITN clinched the Award for the Year’s Best Quiz Programme. The Award went to Priyal Weerasinghe.

J. Yogaraj of the Vasanthan TV Channel of the Independent Television Network clinched the Award of the Year’s Best Tamil medium News Presenter.

Dulanjali Mihindukulasuriya of the Prime TV Channel of the Independent Television Network won the Best English News Presenter’s Award at the Raigam Tele-es Awards Nite.

The Special Jury’s Award was given to ITN. Amitha Danangoda received the Award on behalf of the Wedagedara programme telecast by ITN.

Jackson Anthony won the Year’s Best Actor’s Award at the Raigam Tele Awards Nite.

M.D. Mahindapala and Ramya Wanigasekara was honoured with the Pranama Awards while the Prathiba Prabha Gaurawa Awards were given to Parakrama Niriella and Jayalath Manoratne.

Addressing the Awards Nite, Secretary to the President Lalith Weeratunge emphasized that teledramas can play an outstanding role in moulding virtuous citizens.

Many Parliamentarians, Provincial Governors, Scholars, Chairman of Kingdom of Raigam Ravi Liyanage and many officials were among those who graced the occasion.